In the end we were just a moment (Prose Poem)

Today’s prompt: Write a piece of prose or poetry that ends with in the end, we were just a moment.

rolands-zilvinskis-cPxRBHechRc-unsplash

Standing at the crossroads of life looking back and collecting all the memories as the translucent sea glass walking barefoot on the beach. Wet sands making islands of hope between my toes, there is much more to this fleeting moment, the moment I want feverishly to savor, and clutch in my palms.Weaving like a beautiful life story saving for the puny ears of my grand kids as they listen intently to the fate of the princess after a long ordeal which lasted a lifetime. You will always find a horde of the little audience for the fairy tales as they cuddle our imaginations and keep the child giggling under our souls. Those stories laced with the beautiful memories could have been the heritage for my grand kids something for them to cherish, something for them to hold onto to their warm hearts when it gets broken occasionally. But it only lasted a summer, saying it aloud in my heart, ringing in my ears that in the end, we were just a moment.

–Megha Sood

Photo by Rolands Zilvinskis on Unsplash

2 thoughts on “In the end we were just a moment (Prose Poem)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.