Sweet notes of freedom

First Published in Visual Verse Vol 5 Chapter 11

dominik-vanyi-410261-unsplash

My fingers incessantly

plucking the strings

as they draw the blood from my soul

and plays on and on

like a long-lost symphony,

with truth lodged between my throat

as I clutch my teeth together

shredding it

Oh! so gently

 

I move my fecund fingertips fervently

to bring out the music of the divine

those seraphic fingers

playing the melody

moves gently

Oh! so sublime

 

But nothing comes out from this

choked and vapid soul

everything gets

lost in the cacophony

this voiceless din,

this succumbed uproar

 

I’m taking in thin strips of the air

or whatever is left of it

as my encumbered heart is

dying and rotting slowly

when the air is heavy around me

laced with thick orange tinged

doubts and accusations

dangling freely

 

And I know I have to hide my identity

inside this eye pleasing

ambrosial appearance,

to satiate your soul

and to validate

my dim existence

 

And God forbid if I even try to exist in a form

other than binary

then music will be tainted forever

the sweet notes will be turned into a cacophony

upsetting your fragile balance

between totalitarian and the anarchy

 

This air is venomous

I’m gasping and wheezing

with swirling vortex twisted

around my throat,

with my bated breath and bleary eyes

I wait for sweet notes of freedom

to set my soul free

forever and more.

Photo by Dominik Vanyi on Unsplash

–Megha

 

11 thoughts on “Sweet notes of freedom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.